Traffic Ticket Defense FAQ | Clearwater - Tampa
If you get a ticket in Florida, do not be surprised if you are hit with a strict penalty. This is especially true if you are deemed a habitual traffic offender. This is why you should consult an experienced Clearwater criminal defense attorney to determine what options you have regarding your traffic ticket. Do not just pay the ticket. The attorneys at The Law Offices of Powers Sellers & Finkelstein are experienced traffic tickets attorneys who will seek to have your traffic ticket dismissed or resolved in a manner that will not affect your insurance, your driving record, or your driving privilege.
If you have questions related to your specific case, you can contact us 24/7 for a free case review.
Here are some common questions that our firm receives from clients involved in Traffic Ticket Defense cases:
Should I just pay my ticket?
No. You should consult an attorney before paying a ticket. You may have a defense. Additionally, although paying a ticket may seem like the simple solution, the ramifications can be devastating. If you have a lengthy driving record, you may be looking at additional points on your license which could result in a license suspension. Our consultations are free. Call one of our traffic defense attorneys to find out what options you may have.
How many points will be on my license?
The number of points that go on your driving record is determined by the type of traffic violation. Leaving the scene of an accident with property damage and speeding resulting in an accident will each result in 6 points on your record. Reckless driving and moving violations resulting in accidents (other than speeding) carry 4 points each. Speeding and other moving violations will carry between 3-4 points. For a more comprehensive list, visit the Florida DMV website.
What is the significance of Florida driving point system?
The concept is to prevent repeat traffic tickets In the state of Florida, you may lose your license if you acquire too many points within a specific period. The following will result in a license suspension:
- 12 points within a 12-month period – 30-day suspension
- 18 points within an 18-month period – 90-day suspension
- 24 points within a 36-month period – 365-day suspension
The law is tougher on minors. Contact our office for details on driving points as they relate to minors.
Will my insurance go up?
You must contact your insurance carrier regarding your rates. Depending on the nature of the violation and your driving record, you may be looking at increased rates. This is yet another reason why it is so important to contact an attorney before paying your traffic ticket.
Can I get my ticket dismissed? There are many reasons why traffic tickets get dismissed. Witnesses may not show and/or faulty equipment may result in dismissals. Often, officers do not file the appropriate paperwork and tickets are significantly delayed in prosecution. This too can result in a dismissal. Should I fight my ticket?
Every case is different. At the very least, you should attempt to minimize the long-term effects of a traffic ticket. There are alternatives to simply paying the fine which may save you time and money in the long run. Be careful not to let your deadline for payment pass you by. This can and usually does result in a driver's license suspension.
Can I take the driver's school course online?
Yes. If you are opting to take the driving improvement course, you may do so online. If you are eligible to take this course and choose to do so, you will avoid points on your license. You must pay your fine as well to satisfy this option.
Should I complete the driving school?
Call one of our traffic defense attorneys before you opt for the driving school to determine whether you have defenses to your traffic infraction. We provide a free case consultation.
What is the difference between a withhold of adjudication and an adjudication?
A withhold of adjudication means you are not convicted of the traffic infraction. This is a way to avoid accumulating points on your driver's license. An adjudication will result in points on your license.
Am I eligible for driving school?
You may opt for driving school on non-criminal traffic violations and non-CDL license violations. However, you are only allowed to opt for the driver improvement course one time within a 12-month period.
Can I fight a speeding ticket if the officer used a radar?
This is a common question. Officers may be trained in estimating speed visually. Officers may also use a radar to detect speed. If there are calibration or mechanical issues with the radar, you may have cause to move to dismiss your speeding ticket.
Can I fight a red light camera ticket?
There are numerous issues regarding the current laws that govern Florida's red-light camera tickets. If you have received a red light camera ticket, contact one of our traffic defense attorneys as soon as possible. Our attorneys have been successful in defending red light camera tickets and can advise whether you have a defense or grounds for a motion to dismiss.