Criminal Law Articles Library

How Long Is A License Suspension For DUI?

Posted by Powers Sellers & Finkelstein | Mar 23, 2019 | 0 Comments

How Long Suspended License Dui

If you are like many Floridians, the ability to drive is not just a luxury, it is a necessity. You need to drive to get to work, take your kids to school, and even go grocery shopping. Therefore, if you have been charged with driving under the influence, or DUI, in Florida you are likely asking yourself, “ How long is the license suspension for DUI? ” Although only an experienced Florida criminal defense attorney can give you legal advice specific to your situation, understanding the basics of how a DUI would impact your driver's license can be helpful.

The first time you are convicted of a DUI you may have your license revoked for a minimum of 180 days and a maximum of one year; however, you may be eligible for a hardship license at any time prior to the expiration of the revocation period if you have completed the required DUI school and treatment (if referred).

Your second DUI conviction within five years of your first DUI conviction may result in having your license revoked for a minimum of five years. However, you may be eligible for a hardship reinstatement of your driver's license one year after it was revoked. You may face a license suspension for DUI for a minimum of 180 days and a maximum of one year if it has been more than five years since your first DUI.

A third DUI conviction within 10 years of the second conviction may lead to having your driver's license revoked for a minimum of 10 years. You may be eligible for a hardship reinstatement of your license after two years.

The fourth time you are convicted of a DUI, regardless of how long ago the other three convictions were, you may be subject to a mandatory permanent revocation of your driver's license with no opportunity for a hardship reinstatement.

If you are convicted of DUI Manslaughter you may be subject to a mandatory permanent revocation of your license. You may be eligible for a hardship reinstatement after five years if this was your first DUI conviction.

Finally, if you refused the chemical test your license will be suspended for one year for the first refusal and 18 months for a second or subsequent refusal.

As you can see, the State of Florida takes DUI extremely seriously and is not afraid to revoke your driver's license for a long period of time for a conviction. If you have been arrested or facing a license suspension for DUI you need to contact a skilled Florida criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to discuss your defense options. Call Powers Sellers & Finkelstein, PLC for a free case evaluation at 727-531-2926.

About the Author

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Keep Calm. Call Us.

Best client service

We make sure to be there for our clients every step of the way.

Amazing track record

We will put our long-standing record of success to work for you.

Top litigators

Our team has over 30 years of litigation experience.

Expert problem solvers

No problem has been proven too big for us to handle.

Contact Us Today

Powers Sellers & Finkelstein is committed to answering your questions about Criminal Defense law issues in Florida. We offer a free consultation and we'll gladly discuss your case with you at your convenience. Contact us today to schedule an appointment.