Like most states, the State of Florida requires motorists to show proof of financial responsibility in the event of an accident. For most people this requires them to carry liability insurance with at least the state minimum limits. Sometimes, however, an individual allows his/her insurance policy to lapse, either because the funds were not available to pay the premium or simply because the payment was overlooked. If your insurance coverage has lapsed, or you never had any to begin with, and you were recently involved in a collision you are undoubtedly wondering “What happens if I was driving my car without insurance and was involved in an accident?”
Being involved in a motor vehicle accident is traumatic enough under the “best” of circumstances, meaning that no one was seriously injured, you had a valid driver’s license, and you were properly insured. If any of those circumstances were also against you in the collision it can be a down-right terrifying experience. If you were at fault in the collision and you did not have the required insurance at the time of the accident your future driving privileges will be at serious risk.
The Florida Financial Responsibility Law requires that any person at fault in a crash resulting in bodily injury and property damage to others must have in effect at the time of the crash full liability insurance coverage. This coverage includes minimum limits of bodily injury liability of $10,000 per person, $20,000 per crash, $10,000 property damage liability per crash, and personal injury protection limits of $10,000 per person per crash. If you did not have the required coverage the driver of the other involved vehicle, or anyone else who was injured in the crash, can obtain a judgment against you for the damages incurred in the collision. That judgment is then immediately enforceable by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles who can suspend your license, tags, and registration for 20 years or until the judgment is paid in full.
If you been involved in a motor vehicle accident wherein you were at fault you should consult with an experienced Florida motor vehicle accident attorney as soon as possible to discuss your legal options. Contact the accident team at Powers Sellers & Finkelstein PLC by calling 727-531-2926 today to schedule your appointment.