AP photo CORRECTION Deadly Crash

DUI Manslaughter Charges in Florida

Imagine you are at dinner with a group of friends. You have a couple of glasses of wine and feel as though you are capable of driving. However, the only thing you have eaten all day is a salad. You are of small stature and you typically do not drink alcohol. Consider the alternative. You did not have anything to drink, but you took a pain killer that your doctor prescribed. You feel fine, although the medicine makes you a bit drowsy.

You leave the restaurant and begin to drive home. You are obeying all of the rules of the road when you drive through a green light and someone pulls out in front of you. An accident occurs where the other driver is at fault. The other driver dies. You think, “The other driver was at fault, I did nothing wrong.” Think again. Any time a death occurs on the road, an investigation begins. Law enforcement officers are obligated to make sure their reports are thorough. When a death occurs, you may be given no choice but to submit to a blood draw for the purposes of determining whether you were under the influence of some intoxicating substance that affected your ability to operate a motor vehicle. This can result in DUI manslaughter.

Even the most innocent of choices can lead to devastating consequences. In the state of Florida, DUI Manslaughter is a second-degree felony punishable up to 15 years in prison. If an individual leaves the scene of a crash, and should have known the crash occurred and failed to give their information or render aid, he or she commits a first degree felony which is punishable for up to 30 years in prison.

Many people do not realize that DUI Manslaughter is a level eight offense in the state of Florida. This means that the Florida Criminal Punishment Code Score sheet starts at 74 points with an additional 120 points because someone has died during the crash. With no prior record, an individual will be scoring 194 points which is equal to 124.5 months in prison. With this comes a four year minimum mandatory prison sentence. If a judge decides you are eligible for a departure and chooses to depart in your case from the 124.5 months, the lowest permissible sentence is four years. The thought of serving four years in prison for someone with no record may be terrifying. This is why it is so important to consult an aggressive criminal defense/DUI attorney early in your case.

It is extremely important to consult an experienced DUI attorney who has represented individuals charged with DUI Manslaughter. The strict laws governing these types of charges can be complicated to navigate. An experienced attorney should begin your defense immediately. The attorneys at Law Offices of Powers Sellers & Finkelstein, PLC are highly trained and experienced attorneys who have represented many individuals arrested for DUI Manslaughter.

Powers Sellers & Finkelstein, PLC, is a full-service Pinellas County criminal defense firm. Conveniently located in Largo, our office is only minutes away for residents of Clearwater and St. Petersburg. Our attorneys regularly handle criminal defense for residents of Largo, Pinellas Park, Seminole, Madeira Beach, Indian Rocks, Kenneth City, St. Petersburg, St. Petersburg Beach, Treasure Island, Clearwater, Clearwater Beach, Safety Harbor, Dunedin, Palm Harbor and Tarpon Springs.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding what you need to know about criminal offenses or you need a Pinellas County Criminal Attorney to handle your dui case, contact the experienced Clearwater Florida DUI Lawyers at Power Sellers & Finkelstein by calling 727-531-2926 today for your free consultation.

 

Please follow and like us: